+5 votes
in GK Quiz QA by (39.4k points)
Question: Which UNESCO sites are located in the countries in the southern hemisphere?

1 Answer

+5 votes
by (51.8k points)
edited by
Best answer

According to the UNESCO website, there are 150+ heritage sites that are located in the countries in the southern hemisphere.

Here is the list of 152 UNESCO sites located in the southern hemisphere:

  • Aapravasi Ghat
  • Aldabra Atoll
  • Atlantic Forest South-East Reserves
  • Australian Convict Sites
  • Australian Fossil Mammal Sites 
  • Barberton Makhonjwa Mountains
  • Borobudur Temple Compounds
  • Brazilian Atlantic Islands: Fernando de Noronha and Atol das Rocas Reserves
  • Budj Bim Cultural Landscape
  • Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
  • Cape Floral Region Protected Areas
  • Central Amazon Conservation Complex 
  • Cerrado Protected Areas: Chapada dos Veadeiros and Emas National Parks
  • Chan Chan Archaeological Zone
  • Chankillo Archaeoastronomical Complex
  • Chavin (Archaeological Site)
  • Chiribiquete National Park – “The Maloca of the Jaguar”
  • Chongoni Rock-Art Area
  • Churches of Chiloé
  • City of Cuzco
  • City of Potosí
  • City of Quito
  • Coffee Cultural Landscape of Colombia
  • Cueva de las Manos
  • Cultural Landscape of Bali Province
  • Discovery Coast Atlantic Forest Reserves
  • Ecosystem and Relict Cultural Landscape of Lopé-Okanda
  • Fossil Hominid Sites of South Africa
  • Fray Bentos Industrial Landscape
  • Fuerte de Samaipata
  • Galápagos Islands
  • Garamba National Park
  • Gondwana Rainforests of Australia
  • Great Barrier Reef
  • Great Zimbabwe National Monument
  • Greater Blue Mountains Area
  • Heard and McDonald Islands
  • Historic Centre of Lima
  • Historic Centre of Salvador de Bahia
  • Historic Centre of Santa Ana de los Ríos de Cuenca
  • Historic Centre of Santa Cruz de Mompox
  • Historic Centre of São Luís
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Diamantina
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Goiás
  • Historic Centre of the Town of Olinda
  • Historic City of Sucre
  • Historic Quarter of the City of Colonia del Sacramento
  • Historic Quarter of the Seaport City of Valparaíso
  • Historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu
  • Historic Town of Ouro Preto
  • Historical Centre of the City of Arequipa
  • Huascarán National Park 
  • Humberstone and Santa Laura Saltpeter Works
  • Iguaçu National Park
  • Iguazu National Park
  • Ischigualasto / Talampaya Natural Parks
  • iSimangaliso Wetland Park
  • Island of Mozambique
  • Ivindo National Park
  • Fraser Island
  • Kahuzi-Biega National Park
  • Kakadu National Park
  • Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley
  • Khami Ruins National Monument
  • Khomani Cultural Landscape
  • Kilimanjaro National Park
  • Komodo National Park
  • Kondoa Rock-Art Sites
  • Kuk Early Agricultural Site
  • Lake Malawi National Park
  • Lake Turkana National Parks
  • Lamu Old Town
  • Le Morne Cultural Landscape
  • Lines and Geoglyphs of Nasca and Palpa
  • Lord Howe Island Group
  • Lorentz National Park
  • Los Alerces National Park
  • Los Glaciares National Park 
  • Los Katíos National Park
  • Macquarie Island
  • Maloti-Drakensberg Park 
  • Malpelo Fauna and Flora Sanctuary
  • Mana Pools National Park
  • Manú National Park
  • Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape
  • Matobo Hills
  • Mbanza Kongo
  • Mosi-oa-Tunya / Victoria Falls
  • Mount Kenya National Park/Natural Forest
  • Namib Sand Sea
  • National Archeological Park of Tierradentro
  • New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands
  • Ngorongoro Conservation Area
  • Ningaloo Coast
  • Noel Kempff Mercado National Park
  • Okapi Wildlife Reserve
  • Okavango Delta
  • Ombilin Coal Mining Heritage of Sawahlunto
  • Pampulha Modern Ensemble
  • Pantanal Conservation Area
  • Paraty and Ilha Grande – Culture and Biodiversity
  • Península Valdés
  • Prambanan Temple Compounds
  • Purnululu National Park
  • Qhapaq Ñan
  • Quebrada de Humahuaca
  • Rainforests of the Atsinanana
  • Rapa Nui National Park
  • Richtersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape
  • Río Abiseo National Park
  • Rio de Janeiro: Carioca Landscapes between the Mountain and the Sea
  • Robben Island
  • Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens
  • Royal Hill of Ambohimanga
  • Ruins of Kilwa Kisiwani and Ruins of Songo Mnara
  • Rwenzori Mountains National Park
  • Sacred City of Caral-Supe
  • Sacred Mijikenda Kaya Forests
  • Salonga National Park
  • San Agustín Archaeological Park
  • Sanctuary of Bom Jesus do Congonhas
  • Sangay National Park 
  • Sangiran Early Man Site
  • São Francisco Square in the Town of São Cristóvão
  • Selous Game Reserve
  • Serengeti National Park
  • Serra da Capivara National Park
  • Sewell Mining Town
  • Shark Bay
  • Sítio Roberto Burle Marx
  • Stone Town of Zanzibar
  • Sydney Opera House
  • Tasmanian Wilderness
  • Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand 
  • The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier
  • The work of engineer Eladio Dieste: Church of Atlántida
  • Thimlich Ohinga Archaeological Site
  • Tiwanaku: Spiritual and Political Centre of the Tiwanaku Culture
  • Tombs of Buganda Kings at Kasubi
  • Tongariro National Park 
  • Tropical Rainforest Heritage of Sumatra
  • Tsingy de Bemaraha Strict Nature Reserve
  • Tsodilo
  • Twyfelfontein
  • Ujung Kulon National Park
  • Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
  • Vallée de Mai Nature Reserve
  • Valongo Wharf Archaeological Site
  • Virunga National Park 
  • Vredefort Dome
  • Wet Tropics of Queensland
  • Willandra Lakes Region

Related questions

+4 votes
1 answer
+4 votes
1 answer
+3 votes
1 answer
+5 votes
1 answer